Tortilla Pierogies with Truffled Sour Cream

When we ate at Horizons, Jim’s entree had a side dish of truffled fingerling potatoes. Simple, and he loved them. Truffle oil isn’t my thing, so it wasn’t a big surprise when I grabbed the bottle out of the fridge, only to see that it expired last December. My sour cream ended up being mustard/onion instead of  truffled, but it worked out. Also, I love making quesadillas in my panini press rather than in a skillet, so that’s what I did. Otherwise, this recipe is exactly as it sounds: kind of a comfort food appetizer that would be great to serve to guests alongside a beer. It doesn’t have a lot of oomph (truffle oil would give it more), but would be a terrific addition to an appetizer table.

This entry was posted in Appetizers Horizons 2. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tortilla Pierogies with Truffled Sour Cream

  1. Jojo says:

    Those look amazing.

  2. pierogies in a tortilla? sounds so much faster than making, cutting, filling, and cooking a dough.

    • veganappetite says:

      Corinna, it truly hits the same spot. Next time I make them, I’m slathering the top with caramelized onions.

  3. Micah Ludeke says:

    Holy buckets, you’re my new blog hero. Thank you for posting this- I’m definitely going to try to replicate it!

  4. veganappetite says:

    :) Jojo! Thanks!

  5. funkyryan says:

    This is brilliant.

  6. You had me at Pierogies. Genius recipe. I… will… make… this… soon!

  7. Pingback: Vegan MoFo Wrap-Up | vegangela

Leave a Reply

