Seitan French Dip

The Seitan French Dip was the first thing I cooked from the first book when Matthew bought it for me, so I made it again as the first recipe for this project. Mostly, I’ll be making things I’ve not made before but this is so good it deserved a second outing. It’s an excellent way to use up seitan scraps and I’ve been keeping them together in a bag in the freezer for this very purpose.You can’t tell from the picture but there’s lots of melty cheese (Daiya) underneath the pile of seitan and mushrooms.

This was just as good the second time around and the Vacqueyras that Matthew picked out was once again a perfect partner for it.

This entry was posted in Entrees Horizons 1. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Seitan French Dip

  1. Jojo says:

    Yum! I’d eat the hell outa that!

  2. leslie says:

    That looks great. I always love it when something that traditionally meaty gets all veganized!

  3. celyn says:

    Oh, I really, really want that right now!

  4. Mo says:

    I love French dips! It’s so good.

  5. Pingback: October in Review | AfterHorizons

  6. I was so happy to find this blog. I never had the pleasure of eating at Horizons. I had heard about the restaurant from Chef Tal Ronens cookbook, Conscious Cook. To my dismay the restaurant had closed before I moved to New Jersey (temporarily) from South Carolina. However, I purchased both cookbooks when I found that Vedge would be opening soon, in hopes of understanding their philosophy of Vegan food and recipes… I have not been disappointed.

    I’m very excited that you are sharing your thoughts on the recipes. Makes me feel like I have a Vegan friends to share … I’m the lone vegan in a sea of carnivores. My husband never complains that I refuse to cook meat or use dairy but definitely is not as committed to the lifestyle. I’m sure he thinks I’m just into a fad and it will dissipate… after 2 years, I’m even more committed.

    Yesterday I made Grilled Seitan with Sage Mustard (I used liquid smoke for the grilled taste) it was awesome! Made Sticky Toffee Pudding for desert, I’m not usually very good at making deserts but I did an OK job, if I say so myself!

    A few days ago I made the Caribbean Seitan BBQ Wings…my husband kept asking for more!

    Oh and I finally had the privilege of eating at Vedge two weeks ago… it was AWESOME!

    Thanks for sharing…I’ll keep reading!

    • efcliz says:

      We’re glad you found us! I have that grilled seitan ready to write up – I’m glad you reminded me!

      If you ever happen to take any pics or write anything up more formally we’d be delighted to include it in the main blog.

      We’re both so jealous of your visit to Vedge!

Leave a Reply

