Irish Seitan Beef Stew

If you live in the U.S., don’t wait until St. Patrick’s Day to try this dish. A rainy fall day is the perfect time. I made a few small changes to the recipe, using 16 ounces of seitan (instead of 20 to 24 ounces), 2 cups of broth (instead of 2 quarts) and only 1 cup of beer. The recipe calls for fructose, which I’ve never seen, but suggests  brown sugar as a substitute. I used just a tiny bit to round out the beery flavor. Since my short-cut store-bought broth isn’t the best, I added a Rapunzel vegetable cube.

The result is savory, herby, hearty and a terrific comfort food dinner. It always surprises me how much I enjoy beer in cooking, when I can’t stand it for drinking. We suggest you try Samuel Smith’s Old Brewery Imperial Stout.  Sorry, it’s not Irish. It’s British, but was pronounced the best stout Jim ever had. Plus it’s vegan! It’s a little pricey, but worth it for a splurge. Get a bottle and get cooking.

This entry was posted in Soups Horizons 1. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Irish Seitan Beef Stew

  1. Honka donk! Want me some of that.

  2. Celine says:

    you…don’t like…to drink beer? it’s over between us!

  3. Kip says:

    I looooove beer in stews. I only started liking it to drink after trying an unfiltered one for the first time in Zurich. Now I’m a bigger fan.

  4. veganappetite says:

    I love beer in anything and everything.. except in liquid form in my mouth. It sounds like there may still be hope for me. In Zurich!

  5. Blasphemy! But I still love you…and I will drink the leftover beer for you 🙂

  6. Mo says:

    That is one beautiful stew!

  7. Pingback: October in Review | AfterHorizons

Leave a Reply

