Rosemary Focaccia

Anyone who had the pleasure of dining at the Horizons restaurant, was probably greeted with warm rosemary focaccia and dipping oil. Being bread fiends, the second the server brought it to our table, we knew it was going to be a terrific dinner. When I saw the recipe in the second Horizons book, I added it to my must-make list.

I had a few issues with the recipe itself. 2 tablespoons of “yeast powder” for 3 cups of flour. Wow. I used 1 tablespoon of SAF instant rise. The recipe refers to a “sheet pan”. I wasn’t sure if it meant an 11 X 17 or 9 X 13. I opted for the smaller, and think I maybe should have used the larger. Before spreading the dough in the pan, I sprayed it with non-stick spray, just to be safe. The recipe doesn’t call for it and it may not be needed. Rather than brush the top with 1/4 cup of oil, I used 2 tablespoons and still felt generous. While this was baking in the oven (and the Irish Seitan Beef Stew was simmering), it really brought back the aroma of Horizons.

This focaccia will be a go-to for entertaining. It’s quick and easy and absolutely won me over by including black pepper in the dough. It’s great stuff!

As a sidenote, Liz is right. I don’t like the idea of something that is supposed to be crunchy being made all mushy, like chips getting soaked in liquid. But since it makes a crust, I may just be tempted to try it!

This entry was posted in Desserts and Baked Goods Horizons 2. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rosemary Focaccia

  1. Jojo says:

    Yum, that looks just like the focaccia from Terre a Terre.

  2. veganappetite says:

    Fascinating, Jojo! I hope it’s as good there as it was at Horizons.

  3. celyn says:

    Oh I do love a good classic focaccia.

  4. veganappetite says:

    This one seemed easier than most, too. I’m not sure why!

  5. Mo says:

    That focaccia looks super good!

Leave a Reply

