Oven Roasted Tofu with Hawaiian Pesto

This is yet another method of cooking tofu which was new to me. It was drained and pressed then marinated overnight in one of the Horizons spice blends and a few other bits and pieces then very simply roasted in a hot oven. It resulted in a beautiful piece of tofu which had a light crust and was perfectly seasoned. The accompanying pesto used macadamia nuts and ginger alongside the more usual herbs and oil. The ginger seemed to result in a very light clean tasting pesto which I adored. I served it with simple spaghetti tossed with red peppers, onion and garlic.

This was simple enough to cook midweek after a busy day at work but tasted special enough to serve with a decent bottle of wine for guests or a special occasion. One of our favourites so far.

To celebrate our attempts to cook through the Horizons books, the Book Publishing Company have very kindly donated a copy of each title to give away. Today I’m giving away the first book. All you need to do to win is leave a comment telling us your favourite way to eat or prepare tofu, and we’ll pick one using a random number generator. We’ll be able to ship internationally, so the contest is open to everyone. If you don’t win this one, keep coming back because Tami will be posting about the second contest later in the month.

You’ve got until 9pm (UK time) on Thursday 6th October.

This entry was posted in Entrees Horizons 2. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Oven Roasted Tofu with Hawaiian Pesto

  1. Gazebo says:

    I love making tofu-cashew ricotta and then stuffing cannelloni with it or putting it on pizza (or even just eating it straight!) I’ve only just started getting into baking tofu though, and am really loving it so far too.

  2. Jojo says:

    That tofu sounds great, I don’t think I’ve ever marinated tofu overnight & then baked it. I think my favourite way to use tofu would have to be in chocolate mousse, specifically the chocolate mousse cake from My Sweet Vegan. It’s the best way to sneak it into my unsuspecting tofu hating friends food!

  3. Erin says:

    This is actually my favourite way to make tofu! I love that I can do the hard work the night before or in the morning, and just have to pop it in the oven when I get home. Perfect weeknight food!

  4. Sarah says:

    For me, tofu is something I like to have on hand for fast meals. Often I buy pre-marinated tofu and fry it for weeknight dinners. However, I also like to dry fry it and then add sauce (sometimes just soy sauce), or bake it in marinade for a more fancy meal!

  5. Susan says:

    I love tofu pretty much any which way. But I do love marinated and baked tofu, it is so delicious hot or cold.

  6. celyn says:

    My favorite way to eat tofu is in matzoh balls! Closely followed by scrambled.

  7. super carrie says:

    oh wow, that sounds so good!

    it’s so difficult to choose a favorite way of eating tofu. gosh. i supposed scrambled. but pan-fried and mixed with stir-fry is probably the runner-up)

  8. That tofu looks beautiful, I love the addition of pesto.
    My favorite way to make it is this recipe http://www.eatmedelicious.com/2007/06/tofu-magic.html, it comes together super quick and tastes sooo good.

  9. Amy says:

    hawaiin pesto!?! love it. my current fave? crispy buffalo tofu.

  10. Love says:

    My favorite way to eat tofu is in lasagna! Either as cashew ricotta or mixed with vegan cream cheese, nooch and spices. I also can’t get enough of tofu quiches, like the ones in Vegan Brunch. Oh, and Bryanna Clark Grogans tofu bacon is a must on pizza!

  11. Kelly says:

    Thanks for the giveaway! I love tofu marinated and then pan-fried so that it’s crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside.

  12. What a great giveaway! I’ve looked for the Horizons cookbook at my library, but with no luck. As for my favorite tofu, Terry Hope Romero’s Latin Baked Tofu in Viva Vegan is definitely my favorite ever. It is so flavorful and savory, great baked (as written) or put on the grill.

  13. nik says:

    Ohgoodgolly that looks amazing! I love baked tofu, preferably breaded or crusted with something spicy and crunchy…Veganomicon’s Chile Cornmeal-Crusted Tofu is super delicious! I’ve yet to try PPK’s Blackened Scrambled Tofu & Garlicky Grits but it looks fabulous too!

  14. Kelly C says:

    I like my tofu baked in soy type marinade! That one up there looks super yum too!

  15. Kim says:

    My favorite way to eat tofu is to make tofu ricotta (especially with some cashews or cashew butter added in for creaminess) and then make lasagna (which is my favorite food). Thanks for offering such a great giveaway!

  16. mmmorgans says:

    My favorite way to eat tofu is bbq’d! Lightly marinated in sweet chili sauce, sesame oil & braggs and then grilled for a few minutes on each side! Perfection!

  17. Carrie says:

    Definitely marinated and broiled!

  18. 013arh says:

    I love baked tofu – I usually marinate it in a mixture of soy sauce, liquid smoke, and tobasco sauce for awhile before cooking it.

  19. Megan says:

    That looks fantastic!

    I’m all about the scramble.

  20. rachell37 says:

    My favourite way to eat tofu has to be in a scramble. Crumbled, not cubed, of course.

  21. Taylor says:

    My favorite trick is to freeze silken tofu, then thaw it and use it crumbled in stir fries. With the freezing it has the texture of fried eggs.

  22. Ann says:

    Marinated, Baked, Cooled, Dredged, then stir fried. Worth the time investment I promise.

  23. Dave S says:

    Scrambled with black salt to make it eggier.

  24. Caroline says:

    Baked in a bbq sauce is hands down my favourite way to eat tofu!

  25. Mandi says:

    (I have no idea what time it is there right now…but I just feel like commenting anyway). I love tofu in a spicy soy sauce based marinade and then baked, sometimes I lightly fry it after I bake it to make it a bit crispy, too.

    The Hawaiian pesto looks amazing!

  26. funkyryan says:

    Tofu scramble, of course! Can’t go wrong with a classic!

  27. jess streeter says:

    I love just simple, crumbled tofu, seasoned into an amazing Vegan egg salad

  28. joyfulgirl says:

    My favorite tofu recipe used to be tofu ricotta. Until Appetite for Reduction came out. Now I can’t get enough baked tofu!

  29. Becca says:

    My favorite way is tofu piccata!

  30. Lee Ann says:

    Tofu scramble, hands down.
    You can use whatever leftovers you have in the fridge and it always tastes great.

  31. teddyplanet says:

    My favorite way is tofu scramble!

  32. Lee Ann says:

    You can never go wrong with Tofu Scramble.
    I love using whatever I have leftover in the fridge – it’s never the same twice and always good.

  33. Mo says:

    I don’t know what is making me drool more: the tofu or the pesto.

Leave a Reply

