Roasted Vegetable Gazpacho with Avocado Aioli

Gazpacho has been a favorite of mine since the very first time I had it. If we’re eating out and it happens to be on the menu, I’m sure to give it a try. I’m biased toward a less blended gazpacho (like the one in American Vegan Kitchen), but of course had to try the one from the first Horizons book.

Vegetables which are all kinds of wonderful to start with, take on a whole new depth of flavor when roasted. The base for this version includes carrots, and even suggests using carrot juice instead of tomato. Thinking that roasting brings out the sweetness in vegetables, I stuck to the tried and true tomato.

The avocado aioli really brightens it up and provides a contrast in both taste and visual appeal. I’d make this one again, for sure, but I still prefer the freshness of my own.

This entry was posted in Soups Horizons 1. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roasted Vegetable Gazpacho with Avocado Aioli

  1. celyn says:

    Totally yum! How is the avocado aioli’d?

  2. veganappetite says:

    I don’t have my book with me, but it’s basically the avocado, a little mayo, and some seasonings, if I remember correctly. It was a great touch with the roasted vegetables.

Leave a Reply

