Korean Grilled Tofu Steak

Wow, wow, wow. This recipe uses kochujang, which is a fermented red chile bean paste. After scouring stores for it, I ended up finding Annie Chun’s, which seems to be readily available. After all, I found it, right?  This stuff has some heat! It’s just one ingredient in the sauce which also uses a lot of oil. I cut the oil in  half and next time I’ll use even less. It just doesn’t need it. Slathered on grilled marinated tofu, this recipe just may be one of our favorites so far. We served it with rice, as suggested. We had a little spinach to use (I thought we had more) so to add a vegetable we had the Snow Peas with Miso Vinaigrette (blog post to come) as a starter. Next time, we’ll have the tofu with rice and broccoli… along with a Riesling.

This one is a knock-out.

 

This entry was posted in Entrees Horizons 2. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Korean Grilled Tofu Steak

  1. Kelly C says:

    Mmm! Looks so good! Love the grill marks too.

  2. Yum… I love the grill marks also! And the lovely red color of the sauce.

  3. celyn says:

    I have kochujang! I want to make this–it’s so beautiful and you make it sound so yummy! Why don’t I have this cookbook?

  4. veganappetite says:

    This one really hit home with us! I wish everybody could try it!

  5. Jojo says:

    Woah! That tofu looks unbelievably perfect.

  6. It’s one of the easiest things to make ever… and sooooo good! (I just got lucky on the grill marks.)

  7. That sounds fantastic, and those grill marks are perfect!

Leave a Reply

