Refried Red Lentil Tostadas with Cactus Salsa

I’d had my eye on this recipe for quite a while but never seen nopales (cactus) for sale anywhere. VeganMoFo gave me an excuse to order some online from Mexgrocer.

This recipe is in the Appetizer chapter but we ate 2 each for dinner with some Mexican potato salad. The salsa was the easiest thing to make; just blending lots of ingredients together. The cactus was a very strange texture and a bit slimy but the book said to drain – rinsing wasn’t mentioned so I just gave them a dab with a paper towel. I made half of the salsa and there was plenty leftover.

The tostadas involved frying corn tortillas (I used Cool Chile), and the refried lentils were made nice and easy with a jar of one of the Horizons spice blends already in the cupboard.

It’s always great to try a new ingredient and the cactus made a light, fresh salsa. I love lentils and I love refried beans so combining the two worked well but I couldn’t help thinking I was eating dhal with salsa, which was a bit odd. Maybe more spice blend in the lentils next time. The tostadas were very crisp and a great vehicle for lentils and salsa.

I still have half a jar of cactus leftover so if anyone has any ideas of how to use it except salsa I’d love to hear about them.

This entry was posted in Appetizers Horizons 2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

