Israeli Couscous with Saffron, Olives, Fennel and Cauliflower

True story. I could never find Israeli couscous anywhere and always saw it in recipes. The very day I snapped and ordered it from my wholefood co-operative (12 bags minimum order), 2 different types turned up in the supermarket opposite my work. Now I’m always looking for ways to use it so I thought I’d try this dish. It was very quick and easy and a perfect midweek meal. The cauliflower and couscous are cooked in a wine and saffron broth and the fennel is served raw on the top. This resulted in a Provencal style stew; light yet hearty and studded with salty olives. I have no fear of dishes without any obvious protein but even Matthew didn’t kick up a fuss, such was the deliciousness of this dish. I think I prefer fennel cooked to raw, so although the crunchy texture worked well I might throw it in to the stew earlier next time.

This entry was posted in Entrees Horizons 2. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Israeli Couscous with Saffron, Olives, Fennel and Cauliflower

  1. Jojo says:

    It took me forever to find Israeli CousCous, I ended up seeing it at a local veggie cafe & convincing the chef to sell me some!

Leave a Reply

