Malaysian Tempeh

Before I go any further, let me say that I have never had a ‘proper’ curry, only those I’ve made from cookbooks. Or start with that, but end up tinkering some. So this one was a gamble, but made me feel justified in getting a new kind of curry powder at Penzey’s.

The idea here is a modified stir fry, which is recommended to be served over pad thai noodles. The tempeh is brushed with a marinade, then baked, or it can be added directly to the stir fry. I opted for just the vegetables to be in the stir fry. Since I used 8 ounces of tempeh (the recipe suggests 12 to 16 ounces, for 2 servings), I also cut the sauce in half but only used 1/4 of the coconut milk called for. I’m just learning to like it.

It’s not the prettiest dish, but it had complex flavors and we liked it.  But the truth is, I don’t think I’m crazy about curry. If you are, this could be your thing. We just didn’t love it. That said, I picked up a new technique for cooking tempeh, and I do love that!

This entry was posted in Entrees Horizons 2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment