Roasted Peppers with Carmelized Onions, Olives, and Capers

null

Such a pretty dish! We eat with our eyes first, and this one makes you want to dive in. I have to admit that I planned to make these for about 2 months. Jim loves roasted peppers, and I was sure this would be a huge hit with him. I’m afraid I over-hyped in my head: it turns out we only liked it, didn’t love it. I can’t put my finger on what didn’t work for us so my only conclusion is that it was my own doing.

Roasting your own peppers is never time wasted, and I loved that the onions are cooked in the oven right after the peppers. The onions call for more olive oil than I used. For the “exotic” olives, we went with oil-cured black which had a nice tang against the pepper. The recipe calls for 6 peppers and says it serves 2 to 4. My 2 peppers were on the large size and could have served 4 people, so keep that in mind when preparing this one. I couldn’t resist drizzling a tiny bit of balsamic vinegar on the plates, just because I have some “good” stuff that I rarely use. The French bread for serving is a necessity.

It would make a good appetizer for a fancy meal as it can be prepared ahead of time. Or this and the White Bean Provençal Soup would be a lovely lunch menu.

This entry was posted in Appetizers Horizons 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roasted Peppers with Carmelized Onions, Olives, and Capers

  1. Pingback: Jamaican Mango Jerk Seitan Tips | AfterHorizons

Leave a Reply

