Baby Spinach Salad with Fresh Mushrooms, Vegetarian Bacon and Horseradish Roasted Onion Vinaigrette

null

As written, this salad is very quick to put together. Rich gives suggestions for possibly adding radicchio (didn’t have any) and croutons. To keep with the roasted theme of the dressing, I roasted some quartered tomatoes to add the color the radicchio would have had. And croutons as an option? More like a necessity. We love croutons and eat them almost like popcorn when we’re waiting for the meal. Not a good habit, but a very tasty one. I used sourdough for the croutons and made them my favorite way: on the stove. I like them rustic and the cast-iron imparts a little added flavor.

I wasn’t crazy about this dressing. It was on the sweet side for me. I liked it, but it wasn’t the best dressing ever. Jim, who is far less receptive to salads, and even hates creamy dressings, actually loved it. I used the full amount of water and reduced the oil to 3 tablespoons. I think if I were to make it again, I’d add some vinegar. But the horseradish and mustard flavors are wonderful with the spinach and mushrooms. After I finished, I thought that some vegan blue cheese might have been a great addition. Next time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

